top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMagnet Theatre

Zoey Kayendeke's Reflections


My excitement started when I read the invitation email. It came at the time when I was researching about children's theatre and I could not believe it that the answer to my prayer was right before me. I did not know what to expect because I had not experienced early years theatre deeply. In fact I had not seen anywhere in my home country.


We were asked to carry with us anobject that reminded us of home and I chose the "kitenge" fabric because the first thing that comes to mind when I see it is the African woman. I had no idea what we were going to use them for. However, we used them for our first assignment where we had to allow ourselves to be led by the material. This was really exciting for me yet a challenge as a performer to let my body go and follow the material. However, after a series of using different materials, I finally understood what it meant to be led by the material.

A big thank you to all our teachers Mama Jennie, Shaun, Darron , Sara , the administration team upstairs and not forgetting Mama Jaqueline . Oh I can't thank you enough for all the running and putting things together for our sake. Thank you to our South African cousins for smiling with us right from day one to the end and for answering our queries and showing us around.


From the workshops in the incubator project, I did notice that every thing we have been learning applies not only to theatre but to every aspect of life. The breathe, being present being aware of the space you are in , responding e.t.c; all these are things that are easily ignored yet they are important in daily life.


I am carrying home a basket of wisdom with me. I can't wait to see what the future holds for early years theatre in Uganda. I have learnt to experience different materials and share my experience with the little ones and look forward to making many more productions together with my colleague Linda .


Thank you Goethe -Institut South Africa and Magnet Theatre for making this possible .

Thank you!


bottom of page