top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMagnet Theatre

Sivenathi Macibela's Reflections

The Early Years Work module starts with a child development session . The child development session was an eye opener for me. This taught me a lot about children and why they behave the way they do. The things I learnt in the child development session for me won't just end on the floor (theatre/stage or during performance ) . I will also apply them in the future when I have my own children.


One of the hardest things for me, when we started this process, was being myself . Having to stand in front of everyone and be open and honest as yourself was too much for me. This is because I am an actress and part of job is to be someone else and not to be me. To have a particular feeling or mixed feelings as someone else and not me.

For me the Early Years Work has been a great experience and opportunity to learn more about myself as a young woman and also as a performer. Through this module I also got a chance to work with incredible artists from Africa. The module has taught me the importance of being patient and always paying attention to details.


The tables have turned for me because I really enjoy being myself on stage and just playing.

bottom of page