top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMagnet Theatre

Linda Nabasa's Reflections


My time at Magnet Theatre in Cape Town for the  early years program has been great. My expectations have indeed been met. Whilst  in Uganda, I looked forward to not only learning about children's theatre but also creating a production.


The creation process is what took me by surprise, indeed I had to put aside everything I knew, come with an open mind. “Don't perform, just play.”Jenny kept reminding me. It wasn’t easy at first, because whenever I have an audience the first thing I do is Perform, but during this period, I was pushed to play, to awaken the child in me, to be present and connect with the material, PLASTIC.


Who knew a great production would  entirely come out of PLASTIC, certainly I didn’t .

In the past, Plastic bottles and polythene bags have been  things that I have always been too quick to trash away but this period, has taught me to see  Plastic differently. I have come to appreciate its various shapes and forms, sound and the magic that  happens once I let the plastic lead me.


With the help of Helios Theatre and Magnet Theatre , and with support from Goethe institute SA, I, Samuel from Botswana and Zoey from Uganda, have created a beautiful performance called “PLASTIKA.


I look forward to seeing the children enjoy watching it, just as much as we have enjoyed its creation.

bottom of page